Changing careers

Need help? Ask for it. Serious Discussions Only.
Raven

Changing careers

Post by Raven »

Coming up to mid-forties. I really dont want to do this anymore.

Anybody else here change careers in the middle of the stream? Any advice would be most welcome!
~Quoth the Raven, Nevermore!~
gmc

Changing careers

Post by gmc »

18 years ago I walked away from the archetypal career with prospects with nothing to go to I'd just got so sick of what I was doing (I was a senior manager in the UK equivalent of walmart). Took me a while to find my feet but I now have my own business.

I would suggest you do it before you have to and plan what you want to do. Don't get fooled by the easy money for instance like some franchises offer, keep away from amway-no I take that back have a look at it just don't get fooled. Look in to everything and make sure you have fun doing so. There is no point changing unless it is more fun. You have the advantage experience brings and in a few more years you will be coming in to your physical and mental prime-go for it.
Raven

Changing careers

Post by Raven »

gmc wrote: 18 years ago I walked away from the archetypal career with prospects with nothing to go to I'd just got so sick of what I was doing (I was a senior manager in the UK equivalent of walmart). Took me a while to find my feet but I now have my own business.

I would suggest you do it before you have to and plan what you want to do. Don't get fooled by the easy money for instance like some franchises offer, keep away from amway-no I take that back have a look at it just don't get fooled. Look in to everything and make sure you have fun doing so. There is no point changing unless it is more fun. You have the advantage experience brings and in a few more years you will be coming in to your physical and mental prime-go for it.