+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: the role of women in judaism

Local Date
    12-13-2019
    Local Time
    05:54 PM

the role of women in judaism

i am a woman but i am not jewish. i do not belong to any faith at the moment as i am studying as many as possible before i accept one (or possibly none). if i were to convert to a faith system it behoves me to find out how i can expect to be treated or regarded.

there is a jewish prayer i have heard that goes something like "thank you god for not making me a woman" (paraphrased i am sure )

there is also the idea of women being unclean (or less clean) than men by virtue of menstruation etc.

do jews consider women to be inferior, spiritually ethically or mentally, to men? can a woman become a rabbi? if so, on what basis should i accept this? if not, please clarify.

thank you.

Local Date
    12-13-2019
    Local Time
    10:54 PM

Re: the role of women in judaism

Quote Originally Posted by nlwright View Post
    i am a woman but i am not jewish. i do not belong to any faith at the moment as i am studying as many as possible before i accept one (or possibly none). if i were to convert to a faith system it behoves me to find out how i can expect to be treated or regarded.

there is a jewish prayer i have heard that goes something like "thank you god for not making me a woman" (paraphrased i am sure )

there is also the idea of women being unclean (or less clean) than men by virtue of menstruation etc.

do jews consider women to be inferior, spiritually ethically or mentally, to men? can a woman become a rabbi? if so, on what basis should i accept this? if not, please clarify.

thank you.

The fact that you have to ask proves that we are correct..... now go to the back of the synagogue

Banned
    Local Date
    12-13-2019
    Local Time
    09:54 PM

Quote Originally Posted by mikeinie View Post
    The fact that you have to ask proves that we are correct..... now go to the back of the synagogue