Make these ads go away.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Socrates

Godiva Girl

Socrates

I am so happy that we have a Philosophy section now. I have just started learning about Philosophy and find it quite interesting. Since I am new to learning this subject I will probably use wrong words at first and may make some mistakes, please be patient with me. I just finished reading an article about the Greek Philosopher Socrates. Since I had heard his name so many times I was surprised to read that he did not write much of anything. That he was quite the antagonist and mostly tore other peoples opinion down. To those of you out there that know alot about philosophy, what is your opinion of Socrates?

Local Date
    11-14-2019
    Local Time
    05:32 PM

Re: Socrates

GG don't worry...i have never studied philosophy. all i know is what i figured out for myself!

Godiva Girl

Quote Originally Posted by lady cop
    GG don't worry...i have never studied philosophy. all i know is what i figured out for myself!
    According to the Cambridge Dictionary of American English:
    Philosophy: the study of the nature of reality and existence, of what is possible to know, and of the right and wrong behavior, or a particular set of beliefs of this type

anomaly
    Local Date
    11-14-2019
    Local Time
    03:32 PM

Socrates was one of the earliest "Fathers of Reason". He didn't write much because he taught through oral tradition and most of what is known of him was recorded by his student, Plato. He was greatly concerned with ethics and morals.

I found a good link to a brief summary of his life and work (a good refresher for myself as well ).

http://www.philosophypages.com/ph/socr.htm

Godiva Girl

Thanks for the link, Koan. I will definitely check it out.

Sonoma County, California, United States of America
    Local Date
    11-14-2019
    Local Time
    03:32 PM

Quote Originally Posted by Godiva Girl