heathers and herbs

Discuss growing vegetables, fruits, and herbs.
pink princess

heathers and herbs

Post by pink princess »

my boyf and i are thinking of keeping a herb garden with maybe 7/8 different herbs and also setting aside a part of our garden for some heathers

thing is both of us are TOTAL novices!!

we dont really even know where to start or if these things are easy to keep, are we likely to kill them being such novices?

any help would be much appreciated

:D

thanks x
life is what you make it

my boyfriend just proposed to me (05/05/05) and im blissfully happy!! :-4 im engaged!! i have a fiance!! :-4

um..... well thats a bit out of date! im married now! and married life is the best thing in the entire world! with my husband by side my life is complete

:-4
Bothwell

heathers and herbs

Post by Bothwell »

You will struggle with the Basil outside in our climate, Mint, Sage, Rosemary, Oregano, Majoram, Thyme etc will all do well outside, however as previously advised the mint might take over.

Don't know much about heathers except they must need poor soil considering where they grow, but I am sure you will get the advice you need here.
"I have done my duty. I thank God for it!"
pink princess

heathers and herbs

Post by pink princess »

thanks for the hints on the herbs, yeah we were mostly thinking of using it for cooking so things like rosemary and thyme, what abuot chives??

were quite lucky with mint we have some wild mint growing at the bottom of our garden so theres one we can save some money on!!

maybe ill buy a soil testing kit to find out what kind of soil we have..... otherwise can i buy the right kindof soil and put them in a tub of some sort? actually was planning to put them in a tub anyway...

thanks everyone :D
life is what you make it

my boyfriend just proposed to me (05/05/05) and im blissfully happy!! :-4 im engaged!! i have a fiance!! :-4