The Oldest Photograph

Traditional or digital! Share your photos. Do you view the world a little differently through a lens? Let's discuss photos that you find interesting or worthy of discussion.
Philadelphia Eagle

The Oldest Photograph

Post by Philadelphia Eagle »

We recently came across this photo in the family archives. The baby in it is my grandmother! We estimate it to have been taken circa 1885.

I'm by no means an expert on photography but enjoy taking and looking at pictures. I use a Kodak Easyshare Digital camera - model CX4230 -. I recently downloaded Picasa2 software available from Google. I find Picasa to be much more powerful and flexible than Kodak and it has been very useful in collating and organizing my photographic collection..

Any comments/ experiences from colleagues on the forum would be of interest.

Norm.

Attached files
America the Beautiful :-6

website - home.comcast.net/~nmusgrave/
kensloft

The Oldest Photograph

Post by kensloft »

Philadelphia Eagle wrote: We recently came across this photo in the family archives. The baby in it is my grandmother! We estimate it to have been taken circa 1885.

I'm by no means an expert on photography but enjoy taking and looking at pictures. I use a Kodak Easyshare Digital camera - model CX4230 -. I recently downloaded Picasa2 software available from Google. I find Picasa to be much more powerful and flexible than Kodak and it has been very useful in collating and organizing my photographic collection..

Norm.
It would be nice to see a picture of the modern day descendants sitting next to this picture. Looks so old. Was it a daguerrotype?
Tombstone

The Oldest Photograph

Post by Tombstone »

Philadelphia Eagle wrote: We recently came across this photo in the family archives. The baby in it is my grandmother! We estimate it to have been taken circa 1885.

Norm.
This is great. Your grandmother was a cute baby!