Let's talk Civil, shall we?

Accountable

Post by Accountable »

yaaarrrgg;973217 wrote: Most libertarians I talk to view the civil war as unconstitutional, and a federal abuse of power. I think the South could have seceded legally, but choose a violent route instead... being the hot-headed rednecks they were. :)

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index ... 403AAawQdS

http://writ.news.findlaw.com/dorf/20041124.html
According to this timeline, the states did secede, but Buchanan and later Lincoln didn't honor their sovereignty and kept forts in the area occupied. So it wasn't the hot-headed rednecks you quip about who started the war.

I'm no expert on this, but the time and legality question fascinates me, so I look forward to learning alot from this thread. :-6
yaaarrrgg

Post by yaaarrrgg »

Accountable;973433 wrote: According to this timeline, the states did secede, but Buchanan and later Lincoln didn't honor their sovereignty and kept forts in the area occupied. So it wasn't the hot-headed rednecks you quip about who started the war.

I'm no expert on this, but the time and legality question fascinates me, so I look forward to learning alot from this thread. :-6

I'm no expert either. In my view, the South was morally in the wrong, although legally may have had the option to secede. I think the mistake though was in doing it unilaterally, and violently, since it was seen as a military coup.

Lincoln's argument was interesting:

"Lincoln denied that the Union was a mere voluntary association--and claimed that even if it were, ordinary principles of contract law would bar unilateral secession. Lincoln noted that while one party can breach a contract, the consent of all parties is required to rescind a contract. But secessionists analogized the Constitution to a treaty, not a contract--on the ground that each state was more like a sovereign nation than a human being. And under treaty law, unilateral rescission is permissible."