Shadow of Doubt

Need help? Ask for it. Serious Discussions Only.
MaryC

Shadow of Doubt

Post by MaryC »

After a year and a half of being unable to find work, I have finally found a job. It's with a very small company (total employees = 4, including the owner) and I have just completed my second week there. Today the owner pulled me aside and told me that two times in the last week, there have been shortages in the register. I have been handling cash for over 20 years now, and I know the shortage is not due to an error in giving change or collecting money. The amounts missing are even amounts (60 one time, 30 the other) and I am convinced one of the other employees is taking money from the till. The owner, who likes to think the best of people, doesn't want to believe that someone is ripping him off. However, for the 8 months that he was the only one operating the register, there were no shortages. Now, with me on board, there have been two. He and I are not the only ones who have access to the register, but are the only ones who use it regularly. He also doesn't seem to want to do anything that might make the other two workers think he is questioning their integrity (like lock the register or point a security camera at it). Really - he seems to only want to believe that it's an error in the cash handling.

Does anyone have any advice as to how I can deal with this? I don't want the owner to think that I'm either incompetent or a thief, and I certainly don't want to lose the job.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Odie

Shadow of Doubt

Post by Odie »