Hey Guests - dive in!

General discussion area for all topics not covered in the other forums.
anastrophe

Hey Guests - dive in!

Post by anastrophe »

I just wanted to extend a 'hello' to the lurkers - those folks who come by, read a little or a lot, but don't post. i was a lurker myself at one time, and at least for some lurkers, i know that what holds them back is just plain shyness. opening your 'mouth' for the first time in an online arena like this can be very scary. at the same time though, it can be remarkably thrilling and invigorating!

i'm an online veteran, having first connected to the internet way back in the pleistocene era, 1986. before that, i was somewhat active in the BBS world that predated the internet (the internet was there, but it was almost exclusively used in academia, and by the military who first created it).

i don't remember the very, very first time i posted or what it was about. but i do remember that it was after having read a lot of stuff, and finally feeling i had to take part too, i wanted to speak my mind! it was a real thrill - i remember the hairs standing up on the back of my neck when someone first responded!

while some of the folks here at forumgarden have strong opinions (hmm, gee, who am i thinking of, uh, um ME!) nobody here is going to bite! new users are welcome and encouraged to speak up. certainly not everybody is going to agree with everything you have to say - but then - what a boring world it would be if we all thought exactly the same things.

so go ahead - jump in. you'll be glad you did. heck, you can start right here - post a reply to this little post right here. dip a toe in.
[FONT=Franklin Gothic Medium][/FONT]
Bill Sikes

Hey Guests - dive in!

Post by Bill Sikes »

Hello? Hello?? Is there anyone there???

QUIET IN HERE, ISN'T IT.
Peg

Hey Guests - dive in!

Post by Peg »

Come on lurkers, get your feet wet. We don't bite unless asked nicely :p
Tombstone

Hey Guests - dive in!

Post by Tombstone »