Where did you learn to do what you do best? (Jobwise)?

General discussion area for all topics not covered in the other forums.
chonsigirl

Post by chonsigirl »

I had 4 kids, and I had to teach them how to be adults and how to live, it went from that to teaching other kids.......:)
Mystery

Post by Mystery »

Well, I have a Psych degree, and education is great. However, for me, life is what gave me the "know how" to do what I do, which is run an inpatient detox center. My former life was chock full of lessons learned, and some un-learned, and it gives me an added insight into the minds of my patients/clients. It also gives me a tie to them, as they feel comfortable because they see me as someone who has been where there at, which makes them feel it more, if that makes sense.
Mystery

Post by Mystery »

Jester;780058 wrote: Mystery, you got an example your willing to share with us?

YOu mean concerning lessons learned from my past? Or something concerning my clients?
Mystery

Post by Mystery »

Jester;780065 wrote: Connect the dots I mean, an example from your past that relates to why your cleints can can relate to you so well?

It seems to me that your in this not just to make a living but because you have a passion for it. Am I right?

Im always interested in why folks got into the work they did?

Yes, I"m definitely in this because it's a field that is very close to my heart. It is those that came before me, my mentors if you will, that saved my life and showed me the way to build it back up again. They inspired me to be the person I was meant to be and come out of the hell I'd drudged through for years.